Redemption

This post is about redemption for a couple of reasons: 1) I haven’t posted in about two weeks. Uh-oh. 2) Honey Whole Wheat Pound Cake.

Sometimes when I’m cooking or baking, I ruin stuff beyond all hope. I have a major minor freak out every single time, but kitchen fails are a part of life, right? Usually, I know what I did wrong and know how to redeem myself, such as keep a closer eye on the garlic so it won’t burn, or use a 25-degree-lower temperature for dark baking pans. Whatever I did to this pound cake, though, is a mystery to me.

I debated with myself for a while about whether or not I should post a picture of what happened that day, but maybe someone can tell me what on earth I did wrong? This is it, through the oven door. I (un)fortunately don’t have a better photo of that day.

So, after this happened, with a pep talk from my mother, I resolved to make another and just split up the batter into two pans. Though they came out short, they tasted like victory.

Also, they tasted nutty from the whole wheat with just the right amount of honey flavor. The honey was like that one person you know that you can’t help but adore because they’re sweet and interesting, but not overpoweringly so. If you smell that person just a little more than you taste them, then this comparison gets extra credit points. The texture was successful, at least according to one praising coworker. ;)

Time to redeem myself:

Start by gathering up your dry ingredients.

Here are some super special wet ingredients: buttermilk and honey!

After some mixing, it may look a little curdled. Don’t sweat it.

Batter! And it sure is pretty.

My two short loaves ended up looking like this.

Care for a slice?

Honey Whole Wheat Pound Cake

From Joy the Baker Cookbook

2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 sticks butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup honey

3 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat together  butter, sugar, and honey until soft and creamy, 3-5 minutes. On low speed, beat in the eggs, one at a time, beating for 1 minutes between each addition. Beat in vanilla.

With the mixer on low speed, beat in half of the flour mixture. Slowly add the buttermilk and beat until just incorporated. Stir in the remaining dry ingredients with spatula.

Spoon batter into prepared pan and bake 55 to 65 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool in the pan for 20 minutes, before transferring onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

